Leadership Profiles


Richard H. Brodhead is the ninth President of Duke University and the William Preston Few Professor of English. He is a scholar of 19th century American literature and a national leader in higher education.

Since arriving at Duke in 2004, Brodhead has enriched undergraduate education and led the expansion of Duke’s financial aid endowment. Under his leadership Duke established the Duke Global Health Institute (https://globalhealth.duke.edu/) and launched the signature program DukeEngage (http://dukeengage.duke.edu/), which gives Duke undergraduates the opportunity to apply their classroom knowledge in service to society, either in the U.S. or around the world.

Academic Leadership

Dean, School of Medicine
Dean, Fuqua School of Business
Dean of the Graduate School/Vice Provost for Graduate Education
Dean, Nicholas School of the Environment (on leave)
Dean, School of Nursing & Vice Chancellor for Nursing Affairs
Elaine Heath
Dean, Divinity School
Ravi Bellamkonda
Dean, Pratt School of Engineering
Dean, Sanford School of Public Policy
Dean, School of Law
Dean of Arts and Sciences
Jeff Vincent
(interim) Dean, Nicholas School of the Environment
Dean and Vice Provost, Undergraduate Education
Vice Provost for Library Affairs
Vice Provost for the Arts
Executive Vice Provost for Finance and Administration
Vice President and Vice Provost, Global Strategy and Programs
Vice Provost for Interdisciplinary Studies
Vice Provost and Director, Innovation & Entrepreneurship Initiative
Vice Provost for Research

University Administration

Vice President and General Counsel
Vice President, Administration
Vice President, Information Technology and Chief Information Officer
Vice President, Student Affairs
Vice President, Facilities
Vice President, Office for Institutional Equity
Vice President and University Secretary
Vice President, Public Affairs and Government Relations
Vice President, Alumni Affairs and Development
Vice President for Finance and Treasurer
Vice President and Director of Athletics
Vice President, Durham and Regional Affairs
President, DUMAC